Tuesday May 16, 2017
It will be a new-look ‘Cases’ Somerset Rebels septet that will take to the track for this Friday’s (19th) home SGB Premiership match against Rye House Rockets, the match marking the Somerset debut’s for their three new signings, Richard Lawson, Lewis Kerr and Cameron Heeps.

The Rockets have enjoyed a good start to their 2017 campaign, built on the back of an undefeated home record, though, they have yet to pick up any points on their travels, albeit that they have only ridden two matches to date away from their Hoddesdon home.

Rye House track an experienced heat-leader trio, with long-standing Rocket Edward Kennett at number 1, while Scott Nicholls and Chris Harris can boast a total of 10 British Championship successes between them, the duo having represented the Rockets in the SGB Premiership Pairs championship staged at the Oaktree Arena at the end of March, and although the Hertfordshire side will be without Ricky Wells, who is required to ride for Edinburgh, his SGB Championship side, Rye House have made an astute choice of guest in Rory Schlein, who was very instrumental in Wolverhampton’s recent win at Somerset.

“Rye House will prove to be a good test for the new-look Somerset team,” said May, “and have made an extremely good choice of guest in Rory Schlein, but we are determined to get things back on-track results-wise to kick-start our season, and that the new boys will mark their Somerset debuts with a Rebels league win!”

‘Cases’ Somerset Rebels v Rye House Rockets
SGB Premiership
Oaktree Arena
Friday 19th May
Gates Open 6.00pm, Tapes-Up 7.30pm

Admission Prices: Adults £16.00, Concessions £14.00, Young Adults (12-18 inclusive) £6.00, Children (6-11 inclusive) £2.00 Children (5 & under) Free.
Programme: £3.00
Car Parking: £1.50


Somerset Rebels: Josh Grajczonek [c] (8.90), Patrick Hougaard (8.70), Richard Lawson (8.22), Charles Wright (6.59), Lewis Kerr (6.30), Jake Allen (5.96), Cameron Heeps (5.07); Team manager: Garry May

Rye House Rockets: Edward Kennett (9.27), Scott Nicholls (9.23), Chris Harris (9.21), Rory Schlein [g] (7.92), Stuart Robson (7.09), Robert Branford (4.60), Ellis Perks (2.32); Team manager: Peter Schroeck

Share This:   Facebook Twitter